I’m back, I hope.  It’s been quite some time since I’ve blogged, and I’ve actually missed it.  Many, many things have changed since my last blog, both personally and professionally.  On the personal side, both of my parents passed away in 2011: my Dad in September, my Mom in November.  Readers of my blog might recall that Dad had kidney failure the summer of 2010; it was kidney failure that ultimately led to his passing a little over a year later.  My Mom, suffering from dementia for the past few years, simply couldn’t live without him–she passed away 2 days before Thanksgiving.  Her cause of death was “adult failure to thrive”, which I find profound: it is my life mission to thrive in all that I do, and I hope to foster the same feeling in everyone I meet and work with.

On the professional side, in 2011 I sold my company, Emerald Software, to Snagajob.  Snagajob is an awesome company, and I am their VP of Corporate Development.  I had only casually heard of the discipline of Corporate Development before, but I hope my blog–me sharing my research, my findings, my observations, etc.–will help create some substantive discussions about this business function.  In a nutshell, corporate development is all about inorganic business growth, i.e. thinking outside of the current box to strategize on new ways for the company to make money.  That’s new products, new markets, new business plans and processes, etc.  Basically it’s about fostering an entrepreneurial frame of mind to take a company to the next level, then the next, and so on.  At least that’s my take on it…at the moment.

A final personal note: on January 1 my wife and I went on a diet.  You can imagine how the stresses of losing my parents last year took their toll on me, starting with picking up fast food on my way to or from the hospital too many times a week.  By the holidays I weighed 265 pounds, the heaviest I’d ever been.  Armed with some education and a perspective of perpetual awareness born of caring for both of my parents (who were both diabetic), the only thing I’ve “done” to lose weight is keep vigilant track of the calories I consume.  Today I weigh 230 pounds, on my way (hopefully) to about 200 even.  I will probably blog every now and then about this as well.  And yes, Lori has lost weight too, but it would be impolite of me to give you her stats 🙂

It’s good to be back.  As always, don’t be afraid to comment–let me know what you’re thinking, give me (and anyone else reading) your thoughts on my blogs and ideas–or just shoot me an email.

