I haven’t blogged lately for lack of time, not for lack of topic ideas.  If interest in hiring automation (like our onboarding, sorry for the mandatory SEO plug) is a sign that the economy is turning around, we bottomed out over the summer; it’s been a couple of years since I personally have been this busy.  I found myself with a window of time this morning and figured I’d jot a quick blog, of no particular topic, but instead all those tiny little things that I’ve accumulated that I thought worth sharing.

Like my thoughts on Comcast Internet and phone service…unfortunately one of the reasons I’ve been so busy is the inordinate amount of time I’ve spent on support calls with Comcast.  They lured us away from Ma Bell with impressive Internet speeds, but I don’t think we’ve had a 24 hour period of consistent service with them since we switched.  I’m on my last straw with them this week.  If you’re considering Comcast Internet and phone service, I recommend you think twice.

We have a couple of exciting new partnerships brewing, but nothing I’m quite ready to mention.  For now, suffice it to say: if you need strategic HR services regarding compliance, employment law, etc. drop me a line and I’ll put you in touch with the right people.

On a personal note…my brother Danny (as an adult he’s gone by Dan, but I suppose I’ll be calling him Danny for all of our lives) is getting married this weekend.  At 47 he’s found his soulmate and I’m profoundly happy for him.  Congratulations, brother!

The swine flu has struck at our office: Jeff Hayden, my partner and EVP, has been out with it since last Friday.  Germ-X is in abundance in our office.  We miss him and hope he’s back soon.  It’s been interesting to watch the news and the bashing of the Centers for Disease Control in the major media, as if the outbreak is CDC’s fault.  Now I must admit that the CDC is an active client of ours and I might be a bit biased, but as far as I’m concerned the CDC is one of the most admirable of agencies in all of our federal government (don’t get me started on the SBA and GSA).  Only last spring there was no guarantee that a vaccine could be produced at all, and nobody understood the production dynamics if one was to be produced.  Only 4 months later the media is trying to hold the CDC responsible for hastily calculated estimates on production, despite the fact that CDC doesn’t actually do the production of the vaccine.  So far as our project with the CDC, I can attest that they are the most agile and nimble of federal agencies I’ve ever worked with, despite an amazing burden of regulation and oversight that would completely stifle any commercial entity.  I for one wish to say I think the CDC is doing an outstanding job when it comes to the H1N1 outbreak (and I’m really not pandering here!)

Finally I figured I’d share some really nifty websites I’ve come across lately; perhaps you will find them useful.

http://www.slideshare.net – a content creation and sharing site around presentations, i.e. PowerPoints and the like.  You can post presentations for the general public and for just your network.  From what I can see, it’s free and their revenue model is ad-based.  I plan to put some of our presentations up there and provide links to our customers.

http://www.box.net – allows you to upload files that you can make available for access or download by other people, including by a public URL.  It’s not exactly a full blown ECM, but for simple and secure file storage on the web, it’s pretty cool.

http://www.jobbankusa.com/interview_questions_answers/ – if you’re interviewing people, this is a good list of questions – by topic – to ask.

http://www.findrfp.com – a great RFP search and notify service for federal, state, and local government sales opportunities; I’m still pretty knew to them, but am impressed so far.

http://www.pgpf.org – the Peter G Peterson Foundation.  All Americans should know what they’re all about.

http://www.giftedgalaxy.com – a blog on the wonders, challenges, and responsibilities of rearing gifted children, from a VERY talented couple who believe strongly in the special educational needs of talented and gifted children 🙂

