I was having one of “those days” a few days back, the kind that everyone has now and then.  I just couldn’t get done all that I needed to do, and what I did get done just seemed to keep going bad.  And to top it all off I had a headache; not the go-home-now-and-get-over-it sort of migraine, but that annoying low grade headache that just seems to be a nuisance.  Despite all that, I went home that day with a smile on my face.

Jay and I had a phone conference that afternoon with a customer for whom we’re nearing completion of their onboarding implementation.  The topic was integrating our onboarding to their existing recruiting application, hardly the kind of conversation that would completely turn my day around, but just as we were finishing up, my curiosity compelled me to ask, “why did you select our onboarding over your recruiting vendor’s onboarding?”  This particular customer’s incumbent recruiting vendor released an onboarding module last year; wouldn’t it have made more sense for them to go with their existing vendor?  How did we beat their existing vendor?

It was her response that made my day, because even though I have a pretty good idea that we have great products, and that we do a great job of taking care of our customers, it’s still great to hear a customer say so.  She had in fact taken a hard look at her recruiting vendor’s onboarding system, but it just didn’t provide the automation of the new employee process that she was expecting (there’s a lot of that in the market: vendors offering an onboarding that is nothing like what the true HR expert is looking for).  And not only that, she had evaluated several other onboarding products in her current job, and she had evaluated other onboarding products in a previous job.  In her words, our AllegroHR Onboarding is “far and away the best on the market.”  She specifically cited our ability to ensure completeness and accuracy (we’ve been marketing our abilities here under the banner “No Errors, No Omissions”), and the thoroughness of our state tax panel library (in our onboarding, we don’t just provide a library of state W4 PDFs to be filled in by the candidate, we perfectly enforce the business rules of all 50 states and the District of Columbia).

I’ve long suspected that we had a leg up on the competition when it came to these capabilities, our state withholding tax library in particular, but for a business and technology strategist (as I consider myself), it was awesome to hear a customer confirm it.  Thanks to her in advance, and everyone else stay tuned: we’ll have a case study on her onboarding implementation ready in the next couple of months.  And stay tuned for even more capability in this area.

I’ll be presenting next week at the user conference for one of our great partners, NOW Solutions, so I’ll take a break from my blog for a couple of weeks, but I hope to hit the blogging hard the following week with lots of new ideas and feedback from our customers and partner.  Until then, take care…

