If you’re wondering, “what is onboarding?”, then I have something for you. Back in early June when I attended IHRIM ’08 in Orlando, one thing I learned for certain about onboarding is that there is a different definition for every onboarding vendor and HR analyst out there. Seeking to standardize a defintion of onboarding-a “unified theory of onboarding”, if you will-my VP of Customer Services and I wrote an article entitled, “Employee Onboarding: An HR Technology Seeking a Definition”. This article will answer all your questions about onboarding, why you might need it, and makes some specific recommendations about how to approach an onboarding implementation.

To request a copy of the article, click here.

Update: Chuck sold Emerald Software Group in 2011. You can learn about his new company by clicking here.

